Senior A League - Round 22 - Game 2

Tigers 3 - Blackhawks 2 - OT Shoot Out

In the final Senior A League Minor Round game of the season the Adelaide Tigers defeated the Adelaide Blackhawks 3 - 2 in an overtime shootout, but the two points were not enough to give the Tigers the three points they needed to overtake the Hawks for first place and the Minor Premiership.

Ryan O’Handley put the Tigers on the board with a goal before the midway point in the first period, and the Hawks’ Chris Stanton levelled the score with a goal in the last minute of the period.

Both teams battled through a scoreless second period, however the game tempo was physical with referee Dave Gal handing out 20 minutes in penalties, half of the games total in the second period.

The Tigers looked headed directly to the Grand Final after veteran player Ari Pullinen (pictured) scored on a pass from Keith Gilmour, giving the Black n Gold a 2 - 1 lead. The win would have propelled the Tigers past the Hawks into first place and an automatic pass into the championship finals round.

Then everything came crashing down when the Hawks’ Troy Collins scored with just 34 seconds left to play, sending the game into an overtime shoot out and eliminating the Tigers chances of a regulation three point win. Instead the Blackhawks had clinched first place by virtue of tying the game and sending it to a shootout.

The best the Tigers could do was to win the shootout but that would only give them two points and the Hawks, one. Not enough for a Tigers' Minor Premiership.

Eric Lien (pictured) scored the deciding goal in the shootout to give the Tigers the win, and if anything a good morale booster as they prepare to face the Adelaide Jokers in the Best of Three Semi Final starting this week.

The Tigers outshot the Blackhawks 25 - 22 with Sam O’Neill stopping 20 shots to record the win for the Tigers, while Charlie Wragg blocked 21 shots in the loss for the Hawks.

The Blackhawks finish the season with a 9 -7 - 1 - 2 record for 31 points, while the Tigers finish at 9 - 7 - 1 - 1 for 30 points in second place.

The Senior A League Finals Series between the Tigers and the third place Adelaide Jokers kicks off this Saturday 16 September at 3:45pm with Game One in the Best of Three Series. Game Two will be Sunday 17 September at 6:45pm, and Game Three (if Necessary) will be Thursday 21 September at 7:15pm.



SCORING - Tigers -13:44 - Ryan O’Handley (S. Jarrad, T. Reeves): Blackhawks - 0:49 - Chris Stanton (P. Joyce, S. Collier)

PENALTIES - Tigers -12:56 - Simon Jarrad (Roughing): Blackhawks -12:56 - Mike Gainer (Roughing): Tigers -10:45-Jason Nordin (Hooking)


SCORING - No Scoring

PENALTIES - Tigers -16:56 - Ryan O’Handley (Roughing): Blackhawks - 7:59 - Dylan Collier (Roughing): Blackhawks - 7:59 - Dylan Collier (Roughing): Blackhawks - 7:59 - Dylan Collier (Misconduct): Tigers - 3:34 - Ari Pullinen (Hooking): Blackhawks - 0:48 - Chad Wilson (Interference)


SCORING - Tigers - 4:18 - Ari Pullinen (K.Gilmour): Blackhawks - 0:34 - Troy Collins (D. Collier)

PENALTIES - Tigers -14:37- Keith Gilmour (Roughing): Tigers - :37 - Keith Gilmour (Roughing): Blackhawks - 14:37 - Chad Wilson (Roughing): Tigers - 11:09 - Jim Ryan (Body Check): Blackhawks - 4:58 - Bench Minor (Too Many Players): Tigers - 4:58 - Simon Jarrad (Holding): Tigers - 2:00 - Eric Lien (Hooking)

Overtime Shoot Out

SCORING - Tigers - Eric Lien (unassisted)

SHOTS ON GOAL 1st 2nd 3rd Total

Tigers 6 10 8 24

Blackhawks 10 4 8 22

GOALKEEPERS - Tigers - Sam O’Neill: Blackhawks - Charlie Wragg

GAME OFFICIALS - Referees - Dave Gal: Linesmen - Glen Foll & Damian Smith

Scorer - Nicola Reese: Time Keeper - Sarah Wise

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square