IHSA Senior B LEAGUE - Round 2 Game 1

Tigers 6 - Falcons 4

The front running Adelaide Tigers weathered a wild third period rally by the Falcons to come away with a 6 - 4 victory in Round 2 of Senior B League play last Sunday night at Thebarton.

Brenton Letheby led the Tigers’ offensive attack scoring two first period goals, with Jeremy Klein, Josh Letheby, Orren Prunkun, and Steve Turner all notching singles on the scoresheet.

The Tigers pulled away to a 5 - 0 lead early in the third, but then the Falcon’s turned the tables when Christian Murdoch, Jaycob Symonds, and Meggie Ayris each responded with goals within a four minute span to reduce the deficit to 5 - 3 and restore some life back on the “Big Blue” bench.

The Tigers bounced back to stop the threat, when Turner made good on a setup play from teammates Mark Yeager and Jeremy Klein to make it 6 - 3 just past the midway point in the final period.

With the clock winding down, the Falcons opted to pull their goalkeeper for an extra attacker and the move did produce a goal from Findlay-Smith with just over a minute left to play, but the Tigers held on for the win.

Both goalkeepers, Justin Ruston of the Tigers and Lachlan Johnson of the Falcons were kept busy during the tight match with the Tigers outshooting the Falcons 36 - 30.

The Tigers hold down first place on the Senior B League ladder with 6 points, three points clear of the Redwings and Blackhawks who are both tied for second, while the Falcons are still winless at 0 - 2.



SCORING - Tigers - 12:42 - Brenton Letheby (unassisted): Tigers - 11:54 - Brenton Letheby (S. Mougios): Tigers - 1:21 - Jeremy Klein (S. Mougios)

PENALTIES - Tigers - 4:04 - Mark Yaeger (Tripping)


SCORING - Tigers - 18:04 - Josh Letheby (unassisted)

PENALTIES - Tigers - 10:18 - Orren Prunkun (Holding): Falcons - 0:28 - Shane Stolcman (Body Checking)


SCORING - Tigers -19:30 - Orren Prunkun (A. Mitchell): Falcons - 17:44 - Christian Murdoch (S. Campbell): Falcons - 16:04 - Jaycob Symonds (unassisted): Falcons - 13:50 - Meggie Ayris (S. Campbell, B. Bowshall): Tigers - 8:53 - Steve Turner (M. Yaeger, J. Klein): Falcons -1:27 - Justin Findlay - Smith (unassisted)

PENALTIES - Falcons - 4:50 - Steve Pangaris (High Sticking): Tigers - 0:58 - Justin Ruston (Tripping)

SHOTS ON GOAL 1st 2nd 3rd Total

Falcons 10 5 15 30

Tigers 11 16 9 36

GOALKEEPERS - Falcons - Lachlan Johnson: Tigers - Justin Ruston

GAME OFFICIALS - Referee - D Maltby: Linesmen - Ian Hunter & Hayden Crafter

Scorer - Nicola Reese: Time Keeper - Claire Wise

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square